Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize

2014 Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize
$2,500 for a First Book of Poems

This prize is offered annually to a poet who has not previously published a full-length collection of poems. The prize awards the winner with $2,500 and publication of his or her first full-length book of poetry by the Kent State University Press. The winner and the competition's judge will give a reading together on the Kent State campus. The 2013 winner was Spectral Wilderness by Oliver Bendorf, chosen by Mark Doty; the 2014 winner will be chosen by Jane Hirshfield.

Entry requirements:

  • The competition is open to poets writing in English who have not yet published a full-length collection of poems (a volume of 50 or more pages published in an edition of 500 or more copies).
  • There is a $28 reading fee. Checks should be made payable to the Wick Poetry Center.
  • Submissions must consist of 50 to 70 pages of poetry, typed on one side only, with no more than one poem included on a page. Only clean, legible copies are acceptable.
  • The poet's name or identifying information is not to appear on the manuscript. For those submitting paper copies, include two title pages with the first containing the poet's name and contact information and the second containing the title only. If submitting online, include just one title page with the title only. List all other contact information in the "cover letter" box of the submissions manager. Entries are judged anonymously. If any identifying information is found in the manuscript, it will be automatically disqualified.
  • The manuscript may be submitted simultaneously to other publishers, but the poet must notify the Wick Poetry Center immediately if the manuscript is accepted for publication elsewhere.
  • All manuscripts will be recycled after judging.
  • Manuscripts must be postmarked between February 1, 2014, and May 1, 2014.

Submit electronically here