Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

University Research Council

2014 ORSA faculty award winners

The recipients of the 2014 Outstanding Research and Scholarship awards were (l to r) Marcia Lei Zeng, professor of library and information sciences; James Tyner, professor of geography and Quan Li, senior research fellow in the Liquid  Crystal Institute.

Research, Scholarship, Creativity

Research, scholarship, and creative activity: the University Research Council (URC) is a motivating force behind all three. It is the Council's charge to foster and stimulate research efforts and creative projects by providing financial support for artistic and scholarly work. Faculty members can receive from $100 to $2500 ($3500 for projects involving undergraduate students) for materials, supplies, travel expenses, conferences, publication costs, and guest speakers.

In addition to faculty support, the URC promotes undergraduate student participation in research activities in two ways. Faculty researchers can receive awards of up to $3500 for projects that include undergraduates in a substantive role. In addition, undergraduate students working under the guidance of a faculty advisor can receive awards of up to $500 to fund research, creative or scholarly activities through the Undergraduate Research Scholars Program. By offering undergraduates the opportunity to actively organize, design, and conduct research, the URC assists, too, in student retention.


Peggy Kramer
Phone: 330-672-0709