Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

2013 Postdoctoral Award Recipients

Nine researchers and research groups received Kent State postdoctoral seed grants to hire one postdoctoral associate for one year to assist with the following projects:


"Novel  ordered colloids utilizing bent-shaped bioparticles"

Samuel  Sprunt  and James T. Gleeson (physics), Antal Jakli (graduate program in chemical physics, CPIP) and Robert Twieg (chemistry)


"A vaccine technology to immunize against early breast cancer"

Gary Koski (biological sciences)


"Cognitive benefits of exercise in individuals with Parkinson's disease and Multiple Sclerosis"

Angela Ridgel (exercise science/physiology) and Mary Beth Spitznagel (psychology)


"Metagenomics of Staphylococcus aureus colonization"

Tara Smith, College of Public Health


"The role of GSK3 in male fertility" 

Srinivasan Vijayaraghavn and Douglas Kline (biological sciences)


"Development of a super-high power density and fuel-flexible solid oxide fuel cell module"

Yanhai Du (College of Applied Engineering, Sustainability and Technology)


"Synthesis and characterization of photoactive nitrosyl hydride (NHO) precursors"

Nicola Brasch and Paul Sampson (chemistry and biochemistry)


"Effects of ethanol in the mammalian circadian clock"

David Glass (biological sciences)


"Basic, translational and clinical aspects of normative and disordered biobehavioral functioning: An interdisciplinary consortium in the new Kent State Neuroimaging Laboratory."

Robert  Clements (biological sciences), David Fresco (psychology) and Will Kalkhoff (sociology)