Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

A Message from the Board of Trustees


Left to Right: President Lefton; Emilio D. Ferrara, '59, DDS; Andrew J. Banks; Lawrence Pollock; Patrick S. Mullin, '71; Margot James Copeland; Katherine F. O'Brien (student trustee); Stephen Colecchi, '76; Brady Ruffer (student trustee); Secretary to the Board Char Reed.
Seated Left to Right: Jane Murphy Timken; Jacqueline F. Woods; Dennis E. Eckart


We, the Trustees of Kent State University, are pleased - and enormously proud - to share this overview of the university's progress during the last five years. The following pages offer compelling proof that Kent State has entered its second century as a major contributor to the public good in Northeast Ohio and far beyond.

From world-class research that is attracting worldwide attention to ground-breaking degree programs that are keeping our students and our state competitive, we attribute the university's growing list of achievements to the talents and dedication of its faculty, staff, students, alumni and administration. At the same time, we must give credit to the leader who has made excellence an institutional priority and a personal passion: President Lester A. Lefton.

In this era of unprecedented changes, challenges and opportunities, President Lefton has proven to be the right leader at the right time. He shares our view that Kent State has everything it takes to stand among the best universities anywhere. For half a decade, we have seen him demonstrate his deep commitment to realizing this vision through the relentless pursuit of excellence - for the sake of our students, our state and our nation.

We consider it a privilege to support Kent State excellence, and to do so with a community of alumni, administration, faculty, staff, students and President Lefton.

Jacqueline F. Woods
Chair, Board of Trustees