Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Kent State Announces Alumni Award Recipients

Posted Jul. 14, 2014

The Kent State University Alumni Association has announced the five recipients of the 2014 Alumni Awards. The awards recognize and honor alumni who, through leadership, character and hard work, have made exceptional contributions in their chosen field, in their communities and at Kent State.

The following alumni have been selected for 2014:

Andy Baskin, ’90, Distinguished Citizen Award
John Garofalo, ’87, M.Ed. ’93, Kent State Advocacy Award
Lauren Kotmel, ’11, Outstanding New Professional Award
Patricia Shehan Campbell, Ph.D. ’81, Professional Achievement Award
Carter Strang, ’73, M.Ed. ’79, Distinguished Alumni Award

“The alumni association received many outstanding nominations that truly represent the diversity and success of our graduates,” says Joy Wesoloski, Kent State’s assistant director of alumni relations. “The 2014 alumni award recipients epitomize the characteristics of Kent State graduates and the impact they have on their professions and society.”

In addition to the alumni awards, one student award is given. This year’s Golden Flash recipient is Bitrus Audu, a Kent State senior studying business administration and human resource management.

All award recipients were selected by a committee of Kent State graduates.

The award recipients will be honored at an awards banquet hosted at the Kent State University Hotel and Conference Center on Oct. 17 and during the Homecoming football game on Oct. 18.

For more information on the alumni award recipients or to attend the awards banquet, visit