Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Communication Studies Inducts 34 Students in Lambda Pi Eta Honor Society of National Communication Association

Posted Apr, 28, 2011

The School of Communication Studies at Kent State University inducted 34 students into Lambda Pi Eta, the official communication studies honor society of the National Communication Association (NCA). The school hosted a special ceremony and reception in Taylor Hall and held April 21, 2011, for students, family members, and guests.

This year’s induction marks the largest number of undergraduates admitted to Kent State’s Upsilon chapter in recent memory, according to Rozell Duncan, Ph.D., advisor for Lambda Pi Eta and undergraduate advisor for the school.

“Acceptance into Lambda Pi Eta is recognition of academic excellence on the part of the student inductee. Inducting 34 students – the largest number since the founding of the Upsilon chapter at Kent State -- indicates our students are meeting the academic standards our school and the honorary expect of our students,” Duncan said.

As members of Lambda Pi Eta, students are recognized for outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies.

According NCA and Lambda Pi Eta, inductees must have completed 60 semester hours in undergraduate credit courses, have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0; have competed the equivalent of 12 semester hours in courses in communication; have a grade point average of at least 3.25 in these courses; be in the upper 35 percent of their graduating class; and be currently enrolled as a full-time student in good standing with their institution.

Lambda Pi Eta stimulates interest in the field of communication, promotes and encourages professional development among communication majors, provides an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas in the field of communication, establishes and maintains closer relationships between faculty and students, and assists students in exploring options for graduate education in communication studies.

For more information on Lambda Pi Eta, go to the website.

Inductees for the 2010-2011 academic year are:
Alison M. Alemagno
Amanda Anderson
Robert Barclay
Gary Bunofsky
Elaine Christen
JaRel Clay
Leah Ferrell
Katherine Fisher
Lindsay Fogle
Anthony Gramm
Rebecca Halligan
Madeline Hauck
Meghan Hawsman
Ben Kantorowski
Kristen Kent
Johnathon Kos
Jody Lanzer
Julia S. Lien
Ivy Lumpkin
Joseph James Luzar
Brittany Maurer
Marissa Mercurio
Laura Norman
Julianne Petricini
Katie Pfeifenroth
McKenzie Pittman
Mary A. Rudolph
Megan Savasky
Christian Stewart
Aaron Taylor
Brittany R. Testa
Jessica Tilton
Kati Jo Walters
Emily Woods

Check out the photo gallery on