Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Hospitality Management Program Receives Reaccreditation

Posted Jun, 18, 2010

Kent State University has earned reaccreditation for its hospitality management program from the Accrediting Commission for Programs in Hospitality Management (ACPHA). Founded in 1989, ACPHA is the accrediting body for hospitality management programs and ensures institutions’ meet or exceed stated standards of educational quality and continue to enhance their programming through quality assessment.  

Kent State is the only state university with an accredited Bachelor of Science program in hospitality and one of two accredited four-year degree hospitality programs in the state of Ohio.

“Focusing on the ACPHA standards and quality has been good for our program and our 250 undergraduate majors,” said Barbara Scheule, associate professor and coordinator of the hospitality management program at Kent State. “As an accredited program, our faculty members examine what we are doing and plan for ongoing improvement.” 

The baccalaureate degree program in hospitality management prepares leaders for careers in major hospitality industry segments through academic and research programs valuing quality of life, business success, collaborative partnerships, creative approaches and ethical principles. 

Kent State began offering a combined Master of Science in Hospitality and Tourism Management in the fall of 2009, and there are 26 students attending classes or admitted into the program. The program builds on two flourishing undergraduate programs: Hospitality Management and Recreation, Park and Tourism Management. 

“Successfully receiving accreditation and implementing a new degree program only happens because of the hard work of the dedicated faculty and staff within the College of Education, Health and Human Services,” Scheule said. 

For more information about the hospitality management programs, visit

The Accrediting Commission for Programs in Hospitality Management was founded in 1989 and consists of 12 commissioners, including hospitality educators, executives from the lodging, restaurant and hospitality industry and members of the public at large. The commission members meet twice a year to review, assess and evaluate two-year and four-year hospitality management programs at colleges and universities across the United States. For more information, visit

# # #

Media Contacts:
Barbara Scheule,, 330-672-3796
Emily Vincent,, 330-672-8595