Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Kent State's Geno Ford Named MAC Coach of the Year

Posted Mar, 8, 2010

Seventh time in program history Kent State has had a coach honored

After leading the Golden Flashes to their fourth league title in school history, Kent State University Head Coach Geno Ford was named the 2010 Mid-American Conference Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year in an official announcement made by the league office on Monday, March 8.

In just his second season at the helm of the Kent State men’s basketball team, Ford led the Golden Flashes (23-8, 13-3 MAC) to a Mid-American Conference Regular Season Championship, Eastern Division Title and the No. 1 seed for the upcoming FirstEnergy MAC Tournament. Under his tutelage this season, the Golden Flashes were proficient on both defense and offense as Kent State led the MAC in steals (8.8 per game) and with just 12.3 per game also had the fewest turnovers of any team in the conference.

“This is an award that obviously a lot of people have had a hand in,” Ford said. “Rob Senderoff has done a tremendous job with our offense, Armon Gates and Bobby Steinburg were instrumental with our defense and Jaden Uken was outstanding with our daily preparation for practice and games. You have to credit our accomplishments this season to the players who performed at a high level and shared that one vision required for a team to be great.”

The Golden Flashes have won 13 of the last 14 games, and the team’s performance in the second half has been a testament to the adjustments made by Ford and his staff at halftime. During league play, Kent State shot 51 percent and averaged 40 points in the second half, an increase of more than 10 percent from the field and eight points per half.

“We have great support from the University and Athletic Administration here at Kent State,” Ford stated. “Our success is made possible due to the commitment we receive from Director of Athletics Laing Kennedy and President Lester Lefton.”

Today’s announcement marks the seventh time in league history that a Kent State head coach has been selected for the honor (Jim McDonald, 1990; Gary Waters, 1999 and 2000; Stan Heath, 2002; Jim Christian 2006 and 2008). 

The MAC also announced Western Michigan’s David Kool as the 2010 Player of the Year. Kool, received 13 votes to edge out Kent State senior guard Chris Singletary (Chicago, Ill. / Florida Prep) who had six votes and sophomore forward Justin Greene (Brooklyn, N.Y. / Lincoln) who received two votes.

2010 MAC Coach of the Year
Geno Ford, Kent State (13 votes)

Others Receiving Votes
Keith Dambrot, Akron (10 votes)
Billy Taylor, Ball State (1 vote) 

2010 MAC Player of the Year
David Kool, Western Michigan (13 votes)

Others Receiving Votes
Chris Singletary, Kent State (6 votes)
Justin Greene, Kent State (2 votes)
Carlos Medlock, Eastern Michigan (1 vote)
Xavier Silas, Northern Illinois (1 vote)
Rodney Pierce, Buffalo (1 vote)

# # #

Media Contact:
Todd Vatter,, 330-672-8467