Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

<p>Front row (left to right) Dr. Thomas Hohenshil, Ms. Rae Mandel, Dr. Fay Biles; Back row (left to right) Dr. William Herbert, Mr. Dave Herpy, Rev. Dr. Ronald Fowler<br />
Photo by Devin Casper, Kent State University</p>
Front row (left to right) Dr. Thomas Hohenshil, Ms. Rae Mandel, Dr. Fay Biles; Back row (left to right) Dr. William Herbert, Mr. Dave Herpy, Rev. Dr. Ronald Fowler
Photo by Devin Casper, Kent State University

EHHS Hall of Famers

University Communications & Marketing | 10/26/2010
As part of Kent State University’s 2010 Homecoming festivities, the College of Education, Health, and Human Services (EHHS) honored eight distinguished alumni at its inaugural EHHS Hall of Fame Award Ceremony at the Kent Student Center Ballroom.

The first class in Kent State’s College of EHHS Hall of Fame includes:

Centennial Alumni Award
Dr. Fay Biles (1956)
Dr. Fay Biles of Marco Island, Fla., was the first female vice president of an Ohio university, serving Kent State from 1972 to 1978. She also is a member of the Ohio Women’s Hall of Fame and is nationally and internationally known for her work and research in the field of human resource development.

Distinguished Alumni Award

Dr. William Herbert (1967, 1969, 1971)
Serving as a Virginia Tech University full-time faculty member for 37 years until retirement in 2008, Dr. William Herbert of Blacksburg, Va., established the first exercise physiology laboratory on campus and developed the curriculum for the program. He has published more than 120 scientific journal articles, book chapters, monographs and edited works.

Dr. Thomas Hohenshil (1965, 1968, 1971)
Dr. Thomas Hohenshil of Clayton, N.C., served at Virginia Tech University for more than 30 years as a leading counselor education and school psychology faculty member. He was awarded numerous teaching honors, has written more than 125 refereed articles, book chapters and essays, and secured significant research funding.

Recent Alumni Award

Dave Herpy (2001)
Presently serving as outdoor adventure and camp coordinator for the Department of Recreational Services at Kent State, Dave Herpy of Kent, Ohio, received the Administrator of the Year Award in 2007-08 at Kent State. He also received the 2010 Kent State President’s Excellence Award.

Diversity Alumni Award
The Rev. Dr. Ron Fowler (1959)
The Rev. Dr. Ron Fowler of Akron, Ohio, taught in Detroit Public Schools from 1959 to 1963 and was the senior pastor at the Arlington Church of God in Akron with more than 1,200 members. Currently, he consults and offers assistance on such Kent State projects as advancing the university’s relationships with the Akron and Cleveland public schools, improving the recruitment and retention of diverse background students, mentoring students, working with alumni and the Pan-African Faculty and Staff Association, as well as assisting with closing major gifts to the university.

International Alumni Award

Dr. Issaou Gado (2004)
Dr. Issaou Gado, director of the National Institute of Research and Teachers Training, came to Kent State as a science teacher from Benin, West Africa to complete the requirements as a post-doctoral student in evaluation and measurement. He is considered the leading chemistry and physics author in Africa and co-authors many books with fellow Kent State alumnus, Raphael Kalani.

Distinguished Service to EHHS
Rae Mandel (1956)
Rae Mandel of Canton, Ohio, retired from career of teaching kindergarten in Perry Local School 10 years ago and continues to give back to Kent State and her community through charity, volunteering and advocacy efforts. She has made lifetime gifts and pledges to the university in excess of $250,000, including a Medallion Scholarship for the College of EHHS.

Alumni Leadership Award
Dr. Judy Genshaft (1973)
Dr. Judy Genshaft of Tampa, Fla., authored or co-authored 69 journal articles and three books. She is the past provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of Albany. Currently, she is president of the University of South Florida System, which has been nationally recognized as a top-tier national research university, serving more than 47,000 students.

“We value our alumni and feel that it is important to recognize those who have committed their lives to serving others and making the world a better place,” said Daniel F. Mahony, dean of Kent State’s College of EHHS. “This year’s eight alumni embody the values and mission of our college, and their accomplishments are truly significant. We hope to continue this tradition of honoring alumni as part of Kent State’s Homecoming festivities for many years to come.”

For more information on Kent State’s College of EHHS, visit