Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).


Lecture Series in Ergodic Theory and Probability

Supported by NSF and the Department of Mathematical Sciences of Kent State University.

March 30th - April 1st, 2012

Please e-mail Dmitry Ryabogin
or Artem Zvavitch
for more information.

Organizers: Analysis Group of Kent State University


  • Yun Sung Choi (Postech, Pohang South Korea)
    • The Uniform Convexity, Lushness and Bishop-Phelps-Bollobás Property
  • Pablo Galindo (Universidad de Valencia/Purdue University)
    • Some algebras of symmetric analytic functions and their spectra
  • Miguel Martin (University of Granada)
    • "Slicely countably determined Banach spaces"
  • Yuval Peres (Microsoft Research)
    • Will give a series of lecture on "Transience of random walks, Unpredictable paths, percolation and Kakeya sets"
  • Mark Rudelson (University of Michigan)
    • Will give a series of lectures on "Invertibility of random matrices"


Friday, March 30th

  • 3:10 - 4:00pm Yun Sung Choi: "The Uniform Convexity, Lushness and Bishop-Phelps-Bollobás Property"
  • 4:00 - 4:20pm Coffee Break
  • 4:20 - 5:10pm Pablo Galindo "Some algebras of symmetric analytic functions and their spectra"
  • 5:15 - 6:05pm Miguel Martin: "Slicely countably determined Banach spaces"
  • 7:00pm Dinner at Pufferbelly

Saturday, March 31st

  • 10:00 - 10:30am Breakfast/Coffee
  • 10:30 - 11:30am Yuval Peres
  • 11:30 - 12:00pm Break
  • 12:00 - 1:00pm Yuval Peres
  • 1:00 - 2:00pm Lunch in the MSB Library
  • 2:00 - 3:00pm Mark Rudelson: "Asymptotic vs. non-asymptotic approach in random matrix theory"
  • 3:00 - 3:30pm Break
  • 3:30 - 4:30pm Mark Rudelson: "Invertibility of random matrix: soft methods"
  • 6:00pm Dinner at Wild Papaya Thai Cuisine.

Sunday, April 1st

  • 9:00 - 9:30am Breakfast/Coffee
  • 9:30 - 10:30am Yuval Peres
  • 10:30 - 11:00pm Break
  • 11:00 - 12:00pm Yuval Peres
  • 12:00 - 1:00pm Lunch in the MSB Library
  • 1:00 - 2:00pm Mark Rudelson: "Identifying the obstacles: arithmetic structure of the small ball probability"
  • 2:00 - 2:30pm Break
  • 2:30 - 3:30pm Mark Rudelson: "Avoiding the obstacles: normal to a random hyperplane"


The  conference registration fee is $135 for three day stay (March 30th - April 1st, 2012) in the Microtel hotel at Streetsboro, plus $65  which includes pick up/drop off from the airport and Saturday/Sunday lunches/dinners to be provided at the department.  If you plan to stay fewer then 3 nights or prefer to make your own accommodation arrangements please reduce your registration fee by $45 for each day that you will not use our hotel.  If it is possible, please, send a check for your registration fee, made out to "The Department of Mathematical Sciences" to Virginia Wright, The Department of Mathematical Sciences, Kent, State University, Kent, OH, US, 44242. The fee can be also paid during the registration (check/cash).

Depending on funds availability we may waive registration fee for young researchers and people without available funding!!!! Please contact Artem Zvavitch as soon as possible.

Transportation: For driving directions and maps of the university please click here and select the information needed. Parking Services will not monitor the parking lot in front of the Mathematical Sciences building on March 30th - April 1st, 2012. 

The closest airports to Kent are  Akron/Canton  Airport (CAK)  and Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (CLE). We will schedule pick-up from the airport if advance notice will be provided.

Participants:(as of 4/1/2012):

Kent State University
Hassan Allouba Kent State University
 Bruno Braga
Kent State University
C. Davis Buenger 
Ohio State University
Umut Caglar Case Western Reserve University
Mikhail Chebotar
Kent State University
Yun Sung Choi
Postech, Pohang South Korea
Qing Chu Ohio State University
Michelle Cordier
Kent State University
Isaac DeFrain
Kent State University
Joe Diestel
Kent State University
 Per Enflo Kent State University
 Alexander Fish University of Wisconsin
 Willian Franca Kent State University
 Pablo Galindo Universidad de Valencia/Purdue University
 Benjamin Jaye Kent State University
 Jaegil Kim Kent State University
 Olena Kozhushkina Kent State University
 Galyna Livshyts Kent State University
 Victor Lomonosov Kent State University
 Benjamin Mackey Kent State University
 Miguel Martin University of Granada
Kostyantyn Medynets Ohio State University
Tao Mei Wayne State University
Oana Mocioalca Kent State University
Joel Moreira Ohio State University
Enyinda Onunwor Kent State University
Yuval Peres Microsoft Research
Mark Rudelson University of Michigan
Luis Rademacher Ohio State University
Zach Riel Kent State University
Dmitry Ryabogin Kent State University
Jeffrey Schlaerth Kent State University
Matthias Schulte Case Western Reserve University
 Stanislaw Szarek Case Western Reserve University
Sergei Treil
Brown University
Guangliang Zhao Wayne State University
Artem Zvavitch Kent State University