Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Professional Advisory Board

In 1997, JMC formed a Professional Advisory Board (PAB) of prominent alumni and communication industry professionals with strong ties to the JMC program. The PAB links JMC to industry leaders and helps ensure our continuing ability to prepare students for 21st-century media careers.

PAB members have given generously over the years to help fund scholarships and gifts, provide internships, assist with special projects and help students and new graduates with professional placements.

Membership on the Board is by invitation only, normally resulting from nominations by faculty, current board members or alumni. Board members typically serve three-year renewable terms. The Board is led by a chair who serves a three-year term.

2013 Membership Roster

Cynthia Vrsanky Schulz, PAB Chair, Nonprofit Consultant, CVS Consulting.

Debra Adams Simmons, Managing Editor, The Plain Dealer

Cindy Kurman Barrie, President, Kurman Communications, Inc.

Elizabeth Bartz, President and CEO, State and Federal Communications, Inc.

Carol Costello, Anchor, CNN

Wayne Dawson, Co-Anchor and Report, WJW-TV

A. Brian Dengler

David Dix, Publisher, Record Courier

Tom Duke, APR Fellow PRSA, PR Consultant, Duke Public Relations

Al Fitzpatrick, Retired, Knight Ridder

Meghan M. Glynn, Cincinnati Northern Kentucky International Airport

Jeannine Guttman, CEO, Boss Communication

Michael Hanke, Retired, General Manager, Canton Repository

James King, Vice President, Investor Relations and Corporate Affairs, The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company

Nancy Lee, Vice President, Business Development, New York Times News Services

Lorraine Stewart Lockhart, President/Founder, RCG: The Rojek Consulting Group

David Meeker, APR Fellow PRSA, Senior Facilitator, Meeker-Young LLC

Todd Mesek, Vice President, Marketing and Communications, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum

Bill Miller, Editor, National Press Club Record

Mike Murray, World Synergy Enterprises

Jim Nash, Managing Partner, Marcus Thomas Assoc.

Mark C. Nylander, Executive Director, Advertising & Marketing International Network

William Oliver, Senior Vice President, Public Affairs, AT&T

Glenn Proctor, Founder/Creative Coach, REDDjobb LLC

Robert Rosenbaum, President, TheMarketFarm

M. L. Schultze, Assistant Director, Programming and Operations, WKSU Radio

Gretchan Sekulich, Vice President of Communications, FirstEnergy

Brooke Spectorsky, President & General Manager, WKYC-TV

Gina Stikes-Shoehalter, Director of Marketing, News

Stephanie Danes Smith, Retired, Director for Support, Central Intelligence Agency

Denise L. Taylor, Senior Project Manager, The Weather Channel, Inc.

Walter Tiburski

Brian Tucker, Vice President/Publisher, Crain’s Cleveland Business

Gary Wells, Managing Director Global Communications, Dix & Eaton Corporation

Tom Welsh, Retired, FirstEnergy

Bruce Winges, Vice President and Editor, The Akron Beacon Journal