Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

 Mailing Address:

221 McGilvrey Hall
Department of Geology
Kent State University
Kent OH 44242

People

The geology faculty are a particularly active group in research and teaching. Most are nationally known and many are international experts in their respective areas. Two are currently editors of international journals, several serve as members of journal editorial review boards, and all have published numerous articles in professional journals; many have also published books. More than half of the faculty have been nominated for, and/or received, various teaching excellence awards given both within the University and by outside organizations. Most of the faculty instruct graduate as well as undergraduate students.See our Department Handbook for official policies.
  • Chair: Daniel K. Holm 
  • Assistant Chair: Alison J. Smith
  • Administrative Secretary: Annie Krieger
  • Graduate Coordinator: Joseph D. Ortiz
  • Undergraduate Advisors: Ted Dasgupta, Chris Rowan, Abdul Shakoor, Alison Smith, Neil Wells, Carrie Schweitzer
  • Employment and Internship Coordinator: Neil Wells
Faculty
Sue Clement
Assistant Professor (NTT)
sclement@kent.edu
Phone: 330-888-6324


Research Areas:

  • Hydroclimatology
  • Paleoclimatology
  • Geoscience Education
Tathagata 'Ted' Dasgupta
Assistant Professor (NTT)
tdasgupt@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-4104


Research Areas:

  • Geoscience Education
  • Radiogenic Isotopes/Geochemistry
  • Granite Petrogenesis
Rodney Feldmann
Professor Emeritus
rfeldman@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2506


Research Areas:

  • Paleontology
  • Biostratigraphy
  • Biogeography
Jeremy Green
Assistant Professor
jgreen72@kent.edu
Phone: 330-308-7563


Research Areas:

  • Vertebrate Paleontology
  • Paleoecology
  • Synapsid Evolution and Extinction
David Hacker
Associate Professor
dhacker@kent.edu
Phone: 330-847-0571


Research Areas:

  • Structural Geology
  • Field Geology
  • Volcanic Stratigraphy
Elizabeth M. Herndon
Asst. Professor


Research Areas:

  • Trace metal biogeochemistry
  • Low-temperature geochemistry
Daniel Holm
Professor and Chair
dholm@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-4094


Research Areas:

  • Structural Geology
  • Tectonics
  • Precambrian Geology
Anne Jefferson
Assistant Professor
ajeffer9@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2746


Research Areas:

  • Watershed Hydrology
  • Urban Hydrology
  • Geomorphology
Joseph D. Ortiz
Professor
jortiz@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2225


Research Areas:

  • Marine Sedimentology
  • Marine Stratigraphy
  • Paleoclimate
Donald Palmer
Interim Dean, Honors College, Professor Emeritus
dpalmer@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2312


Research Areas:

  • Exploration Geophysics
  • Engineering Geophysics
Chris Rowan
Assistant Professor (NTT)
crowan5@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-7428


Research Areas:

  • Geophysics
  • Global Tectonics
  • Paleomagnetism
Carrie Schweitzer
Professor
cschweit@kent.edu
Phone: 330-244-3303


Research Areas:

  • Invertebrate Paleontology
  • Paleobiogeography
  • Decapod Systematics and Evolution
Abdul Shakoor
Professor
ashakoor@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2968


Research Areas:

  • Engineering Geology
  • Soil Mechanics
  • Slope Stability
David Singer
Assistant Professor
dsinger4@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3006


Research Areas:

  • Environmental Mineralogy
  • Environmental Geochemistry
  • Medical Geology
Alison Smith
Professor and Assistant Chair
alisonjs@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3709


Research Areas:

  • Paleolimnology
  • Micropaleontology
  • Holocene Climate Change
Eric Taylor
Assistant Professor (NTT)
etaylo18@kent.edu
Phone: 330-244-3431


Research Areas:

  • Geology and Human Health
  • Geoscience Education
  • Toxicology of Earth Materials
Neil Wells
Professor
nwells@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2951


Research Areas:

  • Sedimentology
  • Geomorphology
  • Vertebrate Taphonomy
Visiting Scholars
Staff
Merida Keatts
LAN Support Specialist
mkeatts@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2897
Anne Krieger
Administrative Secretary
akrieger@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2680
Sushma Parab
Postdoctoral Research Assoc
Emeritus
Alan Coogan
Professor Emeritus
Peter Dahl
Professor Emeritus
Richard Heimlich
Professor Emeritus