Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Help Give Away Funds for Government Projects; Vote by May 31

Posted May. 19, 2010

Kent State University is encouraging staff, faculty, students and community members to participate in a unique voting competition that allows residents of Northeast Ohio to decide which government collaboration projects receive funding. EfficientGovNow is a competitive grant awards program that encourages and accelerates government collaboration, cooperation and efficiency by providing rounds of funding to government collaboration projects as selected by the residents of Northeast Ohio. This second round of the EfficientGovNow program will provide as much as $330,000 total in funding to as many as four projects from throughout Northeast Ohio.

Citizens can visit to review the 10 finalists and then vote for up to three programs that they would like to receive funding. Residents can vote for programs that help communities where Kent State students and their families live and work, as well as improve government operations in the counties where Kent State has a presence. These programs include:

• Countywide 9-1-1 Dispatch Center – Stark County, City of Canton, City of Massillon, Jackson Township and Stark County Sheriff

• Trumbull County Coordinated Geographical Information System (GIS) Sharing and Data Collection – Trumbull County Engineer’s Office, Trumbull County GIS Department, Trumbull County Sanitary Engineer’s Office, Trumbull County 9-1-1 Department, Trumbull County Soil & Water Conversation District, Trumbull County Planning Commission, and Cities of Warren and Niles

• GIS Cooperative for Small Communities and Utilities – City of Geneva in Ashtabula County; City of Columbiana, Buckeye Water Division in Columbiana County; Village of Lakemore in Summit County; Village of Carrollton in Carroll County; and Village of Wellington in Lorain County

• Ashtabula County Planning Cooperative – Ashtabula County Board of Commissioners, City of Ashtabula, City of Conneaut, City of Geneva and Lake County Board of Commissioners

• Affordable Solutions for Pharmaceutical Access in Summit County to Promote Self-Sufficiency and Employability – Summit County Combined General Health District, Summit County Department of Insurance and Akron Health Department

• Grounds for Change: Creating the First Collaborative Land Bank for the Mahoning County Region – City of Youngstown, City of Campbell, City of Struthers, Austintown Township and Lien Forward Ohio

Voting closes on May 31. Each resident (ages 13 years and up) can cast one ballot. The projects selected to receive funding will be announced in early June. The funding is provided by the Fund for Our Economic Future, a collaboration of philanthropic organizations and individuals that have united to strengthen the economic competitiveness of Northeast Ohio through grantmaking, research and civic engagement.

The EfficientGovNow program is presented by the Fund for Our Economic Future, and Kent State serves as the program’s fiscal agent. In addition, Kent State’s Center for Public Administration and Public Policy is one of five higher education institutions that are partners in the program. For more information on EfficientGovNow, visit

# # #

Media Contact:
Emily Vincent,, 330-672-8595