Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

>> Search issues prior to Fall 2010

Featured Article

Winter Weather Advisory Information – 2011-2012

With the winter season upon us, find out what decision processes guide class cancellations and campus closures and where to check for such information.

read more

Professor Earns Statewide Award for Distinguished Teaching

Posted Dec. 5, 2011 | Anne Dudley
enter photo description
Interim director of the School of Communication
Studies Paul Haridakis is the 2011 recipient
of the Ohio Communication Association's
Distinguished Teaching Award.

Paul Haridakis, Ph.D., interim director of the School of Communication Studies, is this year's Ohio Communication Association's Distinguished Teaching Award (DTA) recipient.

The association honors teachers, coaches and students in nine categories at its annual conference, which took place recently in Findlay, Ohio.

Haridakis was nominated by Adam Earnheardt, Ph.D., ’07, of the Department of Communication at Youngstown State University. Earnheardt is a College of Communication and Information alumnus.

Previous recipient of the DTA award, Communication Professor Carole Barbato, Ph.D., supported Haridakis’ nomination with testament of his dedication to his students and research projects, and the high esteem students reflect of his teaching in course evaluations.

"He is the kind of professor most of us dream of being," Barbato says. "He is truly the ultimate teacher-scholar, and his teaching is as diverse as he is. You might find him teaching a graduate seminar in media effects and in the same semester, an undergraduate course in free speech, or perhaps a course he developed on sports communication due to his interests and his students' interests in sports."

Communications doctoral student Carol Savery wrote a letter of support for Haridakis, noting "his curiosity and energy towards research" and "his seminar style of teaching [that] created a great environment to discuss and listen to different approaches by other graduate students."

Rekha Sharma, communications doctoral candidate and adjunct instructor, says, "Dr. Haridakis didn't just conduct classes, he created a community wherein collegial debate and collaboration thrived."

Haridakis joins three other past Kent State scholars to receive this statewide award. The three past recipients are Barbato, Rebecca Rubin, Ph.D., professor emerita of communication studies, and Jerry Feezel, Ph.D., professor emeritus of communication studies.