Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

>> Search issues prior to Fall 2010

Featured Article

Lawless-Andric Recognized as One of 30 for the Future

Profile of Excellence in Action:
Upward Bound Program Director Recognized by Greater Akron Chamber of Commerce

read more

Nominations Sought for Third Year of Faculty Innovator Awards

Posted Oct. 25, 2010

The University System of Ohio is seeking nominations from students, faculty and administrators for its 2011 "Faculty Innovator Awards." These awards will recognize 10 faculty members and/or teams from Ohio's public universities, regional campuses, community colleges and adult career centers (see map) for work they have done to introduce digital course materials in the classroom that enrich learning and make college textbooks more affordable for their students.

leads joe murray
Joe Murray (center) receiving the award last year

Last academic year, Joe Murray, associate professor of electronic media, won an Innovator Award for using digital content to adapt the learning process for journalism students. Read more about Murray's work here.

Created in 2009, the Faculty Innovator Awards are part of Ohio's effort to stimulate the creation of affordable, innovative instructional materials for students throughout the University System of Ohio. Winning faculty have used digital content (video, simulations, e-texts and journals, visualizations, etc.) into their courses in a wide array of ways, all while lowering the out-of-pocket cost of course materials for students and enriching the classroom experience. The 2010 awardees were congratulated in Columbus by First Lady Frances Strickland and Ohio Board of Regents Chancellor Eric D. Fingerhut, recognized on the floor of the Ohio Senate, and also by House Speaker Armond Budish.

This year's nomination form, as well as information about the winners and innovations from 2009 and 2010, are showcased at Ohio Textbook HQ, an open forum for textbook solutions and discussion.

Nominations for Ohio's 2011 Faculty Innovator Awards must be received by the University System of Ohio no later than noon on Nov. 23, 2010.

For more information, visit