Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

>> Search issues prior to Fall 2010

Featured Article

The Search is on for Excellence in Action

Nominations for the fourth annual President’s Excellence Award will be accepted beginning today (Aug. 13) through Sept. 14.

read more

Kent State Students Recognized for Academic and Civic Excellence

Posted Aug. 13, 2012 | Bethany Gadd

Recipients of the 2012 Wall of Fame awards pose for a photo with Wanda Thomas, Ph.D., former interim dean for Kent State University at East Liverpool and Salem campuses.

Kent State University at East Liverpool recognized students, alumni and campus friends for their academic professional success and community involvement at the 24th annual Wall of Fame awards banquet.

Students were recognized for their hard work both inside and outside of the classroom. More than 35 students were acknowledged for their academic success and civic involvement. For a complete list of all awards, click here.

Two scholarships were also awarded at the program. The Dr. Joan Gailey Memorial Scholarship, which was presented to Katelyn Moore. This scholarship is given each year to a student who is enrolled full-time as a business major or related discipline. Dr. Gailey was a beloved Kent State East Liverpool business faculty member who helped establish the Wall of Fame Scholarship. The Faculty and Staff Wall of Fame Scholarship was awarded to Pamela Anthony. This scholarship was established by the Kent State East Liverpool faculty and staff to recognize full-time students in any major for their academic success.

Assistant Dean Sue Rossi, Ph.D., shared how pleased she was to award these two scholarships because of the role of faculty and staff members in creating the program. Rossi says “that more than $40,000 in scholarships are awarded each year.”

Kent State East Liverpool will celebrate additional scholarship recipients this fall at the annual scholarship reception. The campus also recognized community members and alumni for their professional contributions and campus service. The Friends of the East Liverpool Campus Award recipients were former Dean Emeritus Suzanne Fitzgerald and Harold Bricker. This award celebrates members of the community who have worked to better the campus by sharing both their time and talents.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Kent State Alumnus, Terry O’Hara, ’71. This award was created to honor former Kent State East Liverpool students who have excelled professionally, while continuing to improve the quality of life within the community and region.

Rossi was excited at the opportunity to honor these individuals who continue to make the community a better place to live and work.

“It is always a pleasure to be able to recognize the hard work of the dedicated individuals who support our university,” Rossi says. “They don’t always receive the recognition they deserve, and we want them to know we appreciate them and all that they do.”