Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

College of Arts and Sciences

Department of English

113 Satterfield Hall
Tel: 330-672-2676
Fax: 330-672-3152


A consortium of four universities—Kent State, Cleveland State, Youngstown State and University of Akron—the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing is a unique collaborative design that allows students to take advantage of an award-winning 26-member faculty and to concentrate in the writing of poetry, fiction and creative non-fiction. In addition, the program is among only a few in the country offering a playwriting focus, and one of three programs with an internationally recognized faculty who offer a focus in literary translation. The number and variety of faculty guarantee consistent individual attention to student work. The range of study gives students opportunities to take classes with other writers from different backgrounds and in different genres. An annual series of readings and visiting writers in all genres supports the regular curricular offerings.

Admission Requirements

Official transcript(s); acceptance to a gateway school and admission to a consortial degree program in English; three letters of recommendation; portfolio (15-20 pages of poetry or literary translation of poetry, 30 pages of fiction, creative nonfiction, playwriting or prose and at least one finished work).

Graduation Requirements

The program requires 48 semester hours of graduate-level coursework, including a three-hour internship in teaching, editing or arts administration. There are six areas of coursework in the M.F.A.: Writing Workshops (15 hours); Craft and Theory Courses (9 hours); Literature Courses (6 hours); Internship (3 hours); Electives (9 hours); and Thesis (6 hours). The thesis must be submitted according to the general requirements established by the School of Graduate Studies and Research. The student is required to defend the thesis in an oral presentation before a committee of graduate faculty from a minimum of two consortium schools.