Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).


Spring 2013 Research Incentive Awards


Collaborative Research Incentive Awards:

  • Enhancing Social Cognition through Humanities Courses (Mark Bracher and Tammy Clewell, Department of English;  Susan Roxburgh, Department of Sociology; Elizabeth Smith-Pryor, Department of History; Deborah Barnbaum and Michael Byron, Department of Philosophy; Nancy Docherty, Department of Psychology; Françoise Massardier-Kenney, Department of Modern & Classical Language Studies)
Innovation Research Seed Awards:
  • Zimbabwean Urban History Research and Workshops: Harare, Zimbabwe, 2013-2015 (Timothy Scarnecchia, Department of History)
Research Resources & Tools Awards:
  • Secret Agents of Modernity? Modernization and the Peasant Family in Postwar France, 1945-75 (Rebecca Pulju, Department of History)


Collaborative Research Incentive Awards:

  • Biogeocomplexity and Harmful Algal Blooms in Lake Erie and Coastal Waters (Joseph Ortiz, Department of Geology; Xiaozhen Mou, Department of Biological Sciences)
  • Copper Depletion as a Unique Anti-angiogenesis Strategy for Metastatic Cancer Therapy (Songping Huang, Department of Chemistry; Gail Fraizer, Department of Biological Sciences)
  • The Cuyahoga River as a Laboratory for Water Resources Research (Brian Lutz, Department of Biological Sciences; Anne Jefferson, Department of Geology, Reid Coffman, College of Architecture and Environmental Design; Christopher Blackwood and Laura Leff, Department of Biological Sciences)
Innovation Research Seed Awards:
  • A Preliminary Late Holocene Palaeoenvironmental Reconstruction from Rejolladas and Dzadzob (Sinkholes) In Yucatán, Mexico (T. Kam Manahan, Department of Anthropology; Mandy Munro-Stasiuk, Department of Geography; Alison Smith, Department of Geology)
  • Personalized Health Informatics in Minority and Disadvantaged Groups in Northeast Ohio: Using electronic health records to discover disease correlations to inform and design self-help and genomic-driven interventions (Helen Piontkivska, Department of Biological Sciences; Ratchneewan Ross, College of Nursing)
Research Resources & Tools Awards:
  • Acquisition of a Harrick Plasma Cleaner (Hamza Balci, Department of Physics; Edgar Kooijman, Department of Biological Sciences)
  • Request for the Acquisition of a Low O2/CO2 Incubator for Multidisciplinary Utilization in Cell Culture Systems (Ernie Freeman, Jennifer McDonough , Clements, Robert, and Gail Fraizer, Department of Biological Sciences)
  • Software to Run a Waters HPLC System for Analysis and Separation of Biomolecules and Metabolites (Soumitra Basu, Department of Chemistry; Hamza Balci, Department of Physics;  Jennifer McDonough, Department of Biological Sciences; Christopher Malcuit, College of Applied Engineering, Sustainability, and Technology; Roger Gregory and Nicola Brasch, Department of Chemistry)
  • Surveyor’s Total Station: Vital Resource for Collaborative Research in the Geology Department (Anne Jefferson, Abdul Shakoor, Neil Wells, Rodney Feldmann, and Carrie Schweitzer, Department of Geology)

Social Sciences

Collaborative Research Incentive Awards:

  • Transatlantic Science and Technology Networks (Gabriella Paar-Jakli, Department of Political Science; Ruoming Jin, Department of Computer Science)
Innovation Research Seed Awards:
  • Feasibility of a Breathalyzer to Detect Concussions (John Gunstad, Department of Psychology)
Research Resources & Tools Awards:
  • Geospatial Technology for Public Health and Disaster Field Data Collection (Jacqueline Mills , Andrew Curtis, Scott Sheridan, and Thomas Schmidlin, Department of Geography)

Spring 2012 Research Incentive Awards

Innovation Research Seed Awards:

  • Local Translation of Dscam in Axon Growth and Guidance (Kristy Welshhans, Department of Biological Sciences)
  • High Throughput Microfluidic Method for Measuring Cell Stiffness (Chanjoong Kim, Chemical Physics Interdisciplinary Program and Gail Fraizer, Department of Biological Sciences)
  • Dissociable Neural Markers of Anxious Depression (David Fresco, Department of Psychology)
  • Development of Vitamin B12 - Quantum Dot Conjugates as Probes for Studying Intracellular Vitamin B12 Uptake Mechanisms, Storage and Transport (Nicola Brasch, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry)

Collaborative Research Incentive Awards:

  • Novel Radiation Detectors for National Security  (Brett Ellman and Samuel Sprunt, Department of Physics; Robert Twieg, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • Examining LGBTQ Neighborhoods (Molly Merryman and David Purcell, Department of Sociology; Cara Gilgenbach, University Libraries)
  • Copper Depletion as a Unique Anti-angiogenesis Strategy for Metastatic Cancer Therapy (Songping Huang, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry and Gail Fraizer, Department of Biological Sciences)
  • Biodegradable Side Chain Liquid Crystal Elastomers: Smart Responsive Scaffolds for Stem Cell Differentiation (Elda Hegmann and Torsten Hegmann, Liquid Crystal Institute) 
  • Biochemical Analysis of Multiple Sclerosis Cortex (Jennifer McDonough, Department of Biological Sciences and Nicola Brasch, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry)

Research Resources & Tools Awards:

  • Repair and Maintenance of Multiuser Agilent HPLC Instrument (Nicola Brasch, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • Enhancement of Mass Spectrometry Facilities (Roger Gregory, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • Seeking Cure & Comfort: How Race Shapes Patient Use of Palliative Care in Hospitals (Clare Stacey and Manacy Pai, Department of Sociology)
  • Scanner and Database for Translation Examinations (Geoffrey Koby, Department of Modern & Classical Language Studies)