Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Department of Physics News

Announcements for 2002

Posted Dec. 31, 2002

Congratulations to.....

  • Emeritus faculty member Richard Emmons, on the occasion of asteroid 5391 Emmons, named after him, being at its closest point to the earth (Sept 2002).
  • Undergraduate Violeta Beleva, who has been awarded a Kroenke Scholarship.
  • intwalz Astronaut Carl Walz, a KSU physics graduate. On June 19, 2002, he returned from the International Space Station, having set a new US space endurance record (196 days). He also holds the record for the most days in space by any US astronaut (231 days on 5 missions). Click on the picture for more details.
  • Recent PhD graduate Dr. Andrew Primak, recipient of the Glenn H. Brown prize for outstanding doctoral research, awarded by the International Liquid Crystal Society.
  • Undergraduates Jennifer Dawson and John Morrison, winners of the Distinguished Student Leader Award from the College of Arts and Sciences, and also winners of the 2002 Addison-Wesley Award (photos).
  • Undergraduates Violeta Beleva, Jeff Musa, and Don Norvell, winners of the 2002 John Wiley Award (photos).
  • Assistant Profs. Brett Ellman, Joe Gallant, and Spiros Margetis, who have been granted tenure and promotion to Associate Professor effective AY 02/03.
  • Prof. Mark Manley who has been elected chair of the Steering Committee of BRAG, a research organization representing 52 institutions worldwide.
  • Prof. Satyen Kumar, a finalist for the 2002 Distinguished Scholar Award.