Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Cellular and Molecular Biology Faculty

Darren Bade
dbade@kent.edu
330-672-4639

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison.  More on Bade

Soumitra Basu
sbasu@kent.edu
330-672-3906

Ph.D., Thomas Jefferson University. Quadraplex structures, insulin binding, gene structures and function. More on Basu

Ian Bratz
ibratz@neomed.edu
330-325-6530

Ph.D., University of New Mexico. Functional roles of TRVP1 channels in coronary vascular tone and progession of diabetes. More on Bratz

Heather Caldwell
hcaldwel@kent.edu
330-672-3636

Ph.D., Georgia State University. Role of neuropeptides in regulating social behaviors and neuropsychiatric disorders. More on Caldwell

Richard Carroll
rcarroll@neomed.edu
330-325-6657

Ph.D., University of Toledo. Neurodevelopment, neurodegenerative diseases, Autism, Alzheimers, inflammation and recovery. More on Carroll

Gemma Casadesus-Smith
gcasades@kent.edu
330-672-7894

Ph.D., Tufts University.  More on Casadesus-Smith

Yeong-Renn Chen
ychen1@neomed.edu
330-325-6537

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University. Oxygen free radicals, Nitric oxide, oxidative postranslational modifications, mitochondrial biology in myocardial infarction. More on Chen

John Y.L. Chiang
jchiang@neomed.edu
330-325-6694

Ph.D., SUNY Albany. Molecular cloning expression and regulation of cytochrome P-450 isoenzymes. More on Chiang

William Chilian
wchilian@neomed.edu
330-325-6426

Ph.D., University of Missouri. Angiogenesis, arteriogenesis, regulation of coronary blood flow, heart failure, stem cells, regenerative medicine. More on Chilian

Chi-hua Chiu Groff
cchiu5@kent.edu
330-672-5972

Ph.D., Wayne State University.  More on Chiu Groff

Wen-Hai Chou
wchou2@kent.edu
330-672-2979

Ph.D., Univeristy of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio. Protein kinase C in stroke-reperfusion injuries. More on Chou

Wilson Chung
wchung@kent.edu
330-672-3641

Ph.D., University of Amsterdam. Neuroendocrine brain, androgens, fibroblast growth factor signaling. More on Chung

Robert Clements
rclement@kent.edu
330-672-2984

Ph.D., Kent State University.  More on Clements

Lisa Cooper
lcooper@neomed.edu
330-325-6310

Ph.D., Kent State University.  More on Cooper

Samuel Crish
scrish@neomed.edu
330-325-6680

Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago. Glaucoma, axonal transport, structure and function. More on Crish

Derek Damron
ddamron@kent.edu
330-672-3370

Ph.D., Kent State University. Cardiac myocytes, signal transduction, protein kinases, contractility, anesthetic agents, calcium, cardiovascular disease. More on Damron

Angelo Delucia
ald@neomed.edu
330-325-6135

Ph.D., Purdue University. Molecular biology of DNA tumor viruses, genetics of viral DNA replication, viral etiology of cancer. More on Delucia

Robert V. Dorman
rdorman@kent.edu
330-672-2363

Ph.D., Ohio State University. Biochemistry and functions of CNS membranes, nervous system trauma and recovery, biochemistry of multiple sclerosis. More about Dorman

Gail C. Fraizer
gfraizer@kent.edu
330-672-1398

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley. Tumor suppressor genes and cancer, mechanisms of tumorigenesis including growth control pathways, prostate cancer. More on Fraizer

Ernest J. Freeman
efreema2@kent.edu
330-384-6391
330-996-2383

Ph.D., Kent State University. Neurodegeneration, vascular smoothh muscle cell function, biochemistry of multiple sclerosis. More on Freeman

Alexander Galazyuk
agalaz@neomed.edu
330-325-6640
330-325-5916

Ph.D., Bogomoletz Institute of Physiology. Neuroscience of hearing. More on Galazyuk

James P. Hardwick
jph@neomed.edu
330-325-6684

Ph.D., Illinois State University. Functional role of autacoid P-450 isozymes in carcinogenesis, signal transduction in carcinogenesis and cell differentiation and proliferation. More on Hardwick

Tobin L. Hieronymus 
thieronymus@neomed.edu
330-325-6635

Ph.D., Ohio University. Pattern and process of skeletal evolution in vertebrates. More on Hieronymus

Walter E. Horton
wehj@neomed.edu
330-325-6290

Ph.D., Cincinnati University. Cartilage biology, osteoarthritis, apoptosis, gene expression, tissue engineering. More on Horton

Denise Inman
dinman@neomed.edu
330-325-6449

Ph.D., University of Virginia. Neurodegeneration in glaucoma, gliosis, neural-glial interactions. More on Inman

John D. Johnson
jjohns72@kent.edu
330-672-3899

Ph.D., University of Colorado. Neural-immune interactions, brain cytokines, mood, behavior, stress and immunity. More on Johnson

Min-ho Kim
mkim15@kent.edu
330-672-1445

Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University.  Innate immunity and inflammation on wound healing and tissue repair. More on Kim

Douglas Kline
dkline@kent.edu
330-672-3810

Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Gamete physiology, oocyte maturation, in vitro fertilization of mammalian eggs and the regulation of egg activation. More on Kline

Edgar Kooijman
ekooijma@kent.edu
330-672-8568

Ph.D., Utrecht University. Biophysics protein/lipid interactions, physical chemistry of lipid structure and function, model membranes, neutral lipid storage (lipid droplets/adipocytes). More on Kooijman

Gary Koski
gkoski@kent.edu
330-672-3614

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University. Immune system and cancer, vaccines, molecular mechanisms. More on Koski

William Landis
wlandis@uakron.edu
330-972-8483

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  More on Landis

Yoon-Kwang Lee
ylee3@neomed.edu
330-325-6415

Ph.D., Rutgers University. Structure and regulation of nuclear hormone receptors. More on Lee

Laura G. Leff
lleff@kent.edu
330-672-3788

Ph.D., University of Georgia. Molecular ecology of bacteria, bacterial enumeration and identification. More on Leff

Yong Lu
ylu@neomed.edu
330-325-6656

Ph.D., Univ. Missouri-Columbia. Neurotransmitter systems, GABA, glutamate, audition. More on Lu

William P. Lynch
wonk@neomed.edu
330-325-6137

Ph.D., Cornell University. Mechanisms of neurodegeneration, CNS gene therapy, RNA tumor virus assembly and pathogenesis, microglial developmental biology. More on Lynch

Christopher Malcuit
cmalcuit@kent.edu
330-672-3428

Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst.  Stem cell self-renewal and tissue regeneration in the musculoskeletal system.  More on Malcuit

Jennifer L. Marcinkiewicz
jmarcink@kent.edu
330-672-5554

Ph.D., Illinois University at Champaign-Urbana. Ovarian follicle development, autocrine & paracrine regulation of ovarian function. More on Marcinkiewicz

Jennifer A. McDonough
jmcdonou@kent.edu
330-672-2383

Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University. Regenerative medicine, mitochondrial dysfunction and epigenetic mechanisms in multiple sclerosis. More on McDonough

J. Gary Meszaros
jgmeszar@neomed.edu
330-325-2565

Ph.D., Unversity of Texas Health Sciences Center. G-protein signaling in cardiac fibroblasts  and myocytes, second messengers, cardiac fibrosis and failure. More on Meszaros. More on Meszaros

Michael Model
mmodel@kent.edu
330-672-2874

Ph.D., University of Michigan. Apoptosis, cell water and volume regulation, membrane potential. More on Model

Xiaozhen Mou
xmou@kent.edu
330-672-3625

Ph.D., University of Georgia. Metatranscriptomics of bacteria, pathogens in ecosystem. More on Mou

Colleen Novak
cnovak13@kent.edu
330-672-3613

Ph.D., Michigan State University. Neural and endocrine mechanisms of activity thermogenesis in obesity. More on Novak

Moses Oyewumi
moyewumi@neomed.edu
330-325-6669

Ph.D., University of Kentucky. Drug delivery, nanotechnology, cancer, neurodegenerative diseases. More on Oyewumi

Helen Piontkivska
opiontki@kent.edu
330-672-3620

Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University. Comparative and evolutionary genomics, bioinformatics, molecular evolution. More on Piontivska

Priya Raman
praman@neomed.edu
330-325-6425

Ph.D., University of Louisiana at Monroe. Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying cardiovascular complications associated with diabetes and obesity; atherosclerosis; leptin; Thrombospondin-1. More on Raman

Merri J. Rosen
mrosen@neomed.edu
330-325-6516

Ph.D., Duke University. Neural correlates of auditory perception: effects of hearing loss and experience during development. More on Rosen

Mary Russell
mrussel1@kent.edu
330-675-7613

Ph.D., Ohio State University. Intermdiate filament protein synemin, heart, protein kinases. More on Russell

Prabodh Sadana
psadana@neomed.edu
330-325-6676

Ph.D., University of Tennessee. Hormonal regulation of lipid metabolism. More on Sadana

Fayez Safadi
fsafadi@neomed.edu
330-325-6619

Ph.D., University of Southampton. Osteoblast development and function, effects of hormones and growth factors. More on Safadi

Brett R. Schofield
bschofie@neomed.edu
330-325-6655

Ph.D., Duke University. Functional anatomy of auditory pathways. More on Schofield

Shobhana Sivaramakrishnan
ssivaram@neomed.edu
330-325-6639

Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin. Ion channels, synaptic transmission, neural networks. More on Sivaramakrishnan

Diane Stroup
dstroup1@kent.edu
330-672-3352

Ph.D., Ohio State University. Transcriptional control, regulated transcription of CYP7A1. More on Stroup

Johannes G.M. Thewissen
thewisse@neomed.edu
330-325-6295

Ph.D., University of Michigan. Mammalian anatomy and evolution, morphological adaptations such as those for swimming and flight. More on Thewissen

Charles Thodeti
cthodeti@neomed.edu
330-325-6423

Ph.D., S.V. University. Mechanical control of Tumor Angiogenesis and Cardiac Remodeling. More on Thodeti

Sean Veney
sveney@kent.edu
330-672-3325

Ph.D., University of Virginia. Behavioral neuroendocrinology, sexual differentiation of the brain, syrinx anatomy, neuroethology of birdsong. More on Veney

S. Vijayaraghavan
svijayar@kent.edu
330-672-9598

Ph.D., All India Institute of Medical Sciences. Signal transduction, sperm physiology, fertilization, contraception. More on Vijayaraghavan

Christopher Vinyard
cvinyard@neomed.edu
330-325-6279

 Ph.D., Northwestern University. Function and evolution of primate head. More on Vinyard

Gary R. Walker
grwalker@cc.ysu.edu
330-941-7177

Ph.D., Wayne State University. Regulation of muscle contraction by mechanical stretch. More on Walker

Kristy Welshhans
kwelshha@kent.edu
330-672-2957

Ph.D., Georgia State University. Neural development, axon growth and guidance, local translation, Down syndrome. More on Welshhans

Jeffrey J. Wenstrup
jjw@neomed.edu
330-325-6630

Ph.D., Indiana University. Neural mechanisms of hearing, acoustic communication, including emotional responses to sound. More on Wenstrup

Christopher J. Woolverton
cwoolver@kent.edu
330-672-4648

Ph.D., West Virginia University. Bacterial cell wall polymers in inflammation, sepsis and its sequelae, antibiotic delivery devices, microbial identification and neutralization devices. More on Woolverton

Jesse Young
jwyoung@neomed.edu
330-325-6304

 Ph.D., Stony Brook University. Comparative and developmental biomechanics of locomotion. More on Young

June Yun
jyun@neomed.edu
330-325-6638

Ph.D., George Washington University. Signaling via adrenergic receptors, cardiac contractions and growth. More on Yun

Yanqiao Zhang
yzhang@neomed.edu
330-325-6693

M.D., Wuhan University. Regulation of lipid and glucose metabolism under normal and disease conditions. More on Zhang