Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

News Detail

Kent State University Presents the 12th Annual Fashion School Fashion Show

Posted Apr. 2, 2012

Fashion critics Jeff Bergus and Sarah Van Aken. Photo by Bob Christy The Shannon Rodgers and Jerry Silverman School of Fashion Design and Merchandising (The Fashion School) presents the 12th Annual Fashion School Fashion Show entitled, Möbius: A Twisting of Evolution. The show, featuring designs by 47 students, will feature two showings, at 2 p.m. and 8 p.m. on Sat., April 21 in the E. Turner Stump Theatre, Music and Speech Center at 1325 Theatre Drive on the Kent State University Campus. A fundraising dinner will be held at 5:30 p.m. in Rockwell Hall, with tickets at $165, including dinner and a show.

The "matinee" show begins at 2 p.m. (doors open at 1:30) with tickets at $40 per person with reserved seating. The "awards" show begins at 8 p.m. (doors open at 6:30) with tickets at $65 per person with reserved seating and the announcement of the "critics' choice" awards. Tickets, only available for purchase online, are available at with Visa, MasterCard or Discover. There are no refunds or exchanges.

"The only difference between the two shows is that guests at the 2 p.m. show will not be privy to who the final award winners are," said Effie Tsengas, public relations coordinator for the College of the Arts. "That information will be reserved for the 8 p.m. show."

Under the watchful eye of faculty fashion show advisors, Associate Professor Sherry Schofield-Thomschin and fashion design lecturer Harriet McCleod, the senior fashion design students have spent a full academic year preparing for the fashion show from ideas and concepts to garments and styling.

Students' works are scrutinized by a panel of three design critics who, throughout the nine-month process, provide feedback and suggestions to students. The process culminates when the students turn in their final collections and judges decide which collections, and pieces from collections, should be shown in the final fashion show production.

This year's critics include John Patrick, owner/designer of John Patrick Organics; Sara Van Aken, designer/owner of SaVA; and Jeff Bergus, fashion industry product development consultant and owner of the Lockhart Smokehouse. Their final determination will be to award the "critics choice" awards to several lucky students.

A fundraising dinner will take place prior to the "awards" show, which will be sold as a package deal at $165 per person. The dinner will take place at 6 p.m. in Rockwell Hall Atrium with a complimentary wine bar that will open at 5:30. The package ticket price for the combined dinner and awards show includes a close-up and exclusive preview of select designs from the fashion show, as well as complimentary shuttle transportation to and from E. Turner Stump Theatre from Rockwell Hall. To purchase fundraising dinner and award show ticket packages, please call The Fashion School Hotline at 330-672-1175 by Monday, April 9, 2012. Space is limited.

The event includes an induction of a fashion industry professional into the Shannon Rodgers and Jerry Silverman School of Fashion Design and Merchandising Hall of Fame. This year, fashion design icon Dana Buchman, will be inducted. The annual award is presented to a person who has made a significant contribution to the fashion industry and education for the industry. Buchman joins an impressive list of Hall of Fame recipients including decorated designers Cynthia Rowley, Oscar de la Renta and last year's inductee shoe and accessories mogul, Leonardo Ferragamo.

In December 2011, Buchman served on the critics panel and lent her constructive expertise to students as they presented a few of their outfit concepts sewn in muslin, a test fabric, for feedback.

Dana Buchman, up until spring 2009, was an independent upscale women's fashion brand, and its founder, Dana Buchman, an American fashion designer and creative designer of the same name. Buchman now sells exclusively at Kohl's department stores across the country. She is also dedicated to help under-served children with learning disabilities serving as the founder and chair of the board of directors for the Promise Project.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Rex and Geneva Damron for their years of support and dedication to The Fashion School. This honor is presented every few years to those who have generously contributed to The Fashion School.

Pictured above: Fashion critics Jeff Bergus and Sarah Van Aken take time for a photo op before critiquing the three gowns from the collection entitled "Calm Before the Storm" by student designer Sarah Ineson. John Patrick (not pictured) of John Patrick Organics is the third critic for this year's fashion show. Photo by Bob Christy.

The mission of the Shannon Rodgers and Jerry Silverman School of Fashion Design and Merchandising is to link the academic and workplace environments for the professional advancements of individuals who impact the fashion industry.

# # #

For more information, please contact:

Effie A. Tsengas, etsengas@kent.edi. 30-672-8398