Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Det 630 History

The first Air ROTC units were established between 1920 and 1923 at the University of California at Berkeley, Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of Illinois, the University of Washington, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Texas Agricultural and Mechanical College. After World War II, Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower, chief of staff of the War Department, signed General Order No. 124, establishing Air ROTC units at 77 colleges and universities throughout the nation.

Detachment 630 has been in continuous operation since its inception in 1951 when the Secretary of the Air Force, Thomas K. Finletter, authorized its formation at Kent State University.

North Hall, the wooden barracks that were located underneath the Heating Plant smokestack on campus, was the original quarters of AFROTC from 1951 until 1970.  The unit was moved to Rockwell Hall, which was then part of the original library on the main campus.  In December of 1984, ROTC relocated to the old Wills Gymnasium offices.  The move to Wills Hall allowed all ROTC offices and classrooms to be co-located in the same building for the first time.  An official dedication ceremony was held on 22 Feb 1983. 

The cadet corps' Arnold Air Society has approximately 30 active members.  The AAS is a national, honorary, professional service organization that promotes service projects in the community and on campus. 

The Silver Eagles Drill Team is a ceremonial organization that performs at parades, football games, weddings, funerals and many other community activities.  The 15-member team practices weekly to perfect their performance. 

In November of 2000, both the Army and Air Force ROTC detachments moved into Terrace Hall Annex.  Air Force ROTC normally has 80 to 130 cadets in its program.  Since 1954 Detachment 630 has commissioned 819 Second Lieutenants.

As of June 2005, Detachment 660 in Akron, OH has closed and the cadets have merged with the Cadet Wing at Detachment 630.  Today, cadets from Kent State University, the University of Akron, Case Western University, Cleveland State University, Youngstown State University, the University of Mount Union, Hiram College, and Baldwin Wallace University attend AFROTC classes at Kent State University.

Privacy Act and Security Notice

Last Reviewed: 15 Jan 13